//
you're reading...
Social Media Monitoring

The Problem With Salesforce (Radian6)

The Problem with Salesforce Radian6

The Problem with Salesforce Radian6

I have to be honest. When I was shopping around for social media monitoring software, one name kept coming up over and and over again – Radian6. I spent time researching Hootsuite, Wildfire, Sysomos and all the others, but Radian6, now known as Salesforce, kept popping up everywhere I went.

Then I spoke with others about what they would recommend and wouldn’t you know it – Radian6 was being sold as the “rolls royce of social media monitoring.” And so, we met with a rep, had a walk-through of how it works and signed a contract. Expensive? Hell yeah. Worth it? Yuppers.

And while Radian6 offers some wonderful monitoring tools that keep you abreast of anything anyone is saying about your brand on the Net, it is not without its set of flaws. Here, now, are certain things that I think Radian6, now known as Salesforce, needs to improve upon.

Salesforce is not consistent with email alerts

I created a daily email alert in order to receive an update about all the mentions for the brand to be received right when I arrive at work. For the last few weeks, it has been glitchy at best. Sometimes I would receive it at 7 pm, sometimes I wouldn’t receive it at all.

Sure I could log in to the system and monitor it in real time, but considering I constantly have about 12 tabs open in Chrome at any given time, the point of the email alerts was to provide convenience.

Salesforce does not catch blogger mentions

When the monthly cost of a social media monitoring platform costs you about $1,000 a month, you expect to acquire social media mentions from everyone and their mother. But that is not what is happening here. Salesforce drops the ball on blogger mentions all the time.

How do I know this? Well, I use a website called IceRocket.com to periodically see what bloggers are saying about my brand and lo and behold, what I discover there is not picked up by Salesforce.

Sure, I can add the blog going forward so that I can pick up any future mentions, but again, if I am paying you for a service, I expect that service to be above par in this capacity.

Salesforce’s engagement tools are awful

I use Salesforce for monitoring, but I use Hootsuite for engagement. Why? To put it quite bluntly, Salesforce’s engagement tools are in their infancy and they don’t seem to invest much of their efforts into improving them.

If you want to engage with someone, you must do so in real time and add to that you have to create a custom search for every interaction with another user, and it’s an engagement nightmare.

Salesforce does not offer very good reporting capabilities

At one point, my brand had a situation and I was being asked to document it by sources (where the negative mentions were coming from). I segmented all the relevant mentions by post tags and then wanted to segment them by their source tags. Problem is, even after I took the time to adjust all the sources, I was unable to acquire this information and report it to my directors.

From the perspective of my Director, what was the point of paying all this money for a monitoring tool when, at the end of the day, we were unable to use it to create reports that fulfilled our criteria? And she was right. When I contacted the Salesforce team to report the issue, I was told that it was a known issue and they were working on rectifying it. That was almost a year ago. Not much has changed.

Is Salesforce (Radian6) right for you?

Depending on what your brand goals are, Salesforce can be a powerful and useful tool that can keep you abreast of everything being said about your brand. But you need to keep in mind that you cannot simply use Salesforce as a one-stop shop. Salesforce, like any other monitoring software, comes with its share of flaws and drawbacks.

About Rosy Saadeh

Rosy Saadeh is a Social Media Marketing Manager and spends her time scouring the net trying to make new friends, help clients and post interesting stories about why social media is a compulsory part of any marketing or communications strategy. Connect with her on Twitter , Facebook , Google , LinkedIn and Pinterest

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Problem With Salesforce (Radian6)

  1. Hi Rosy,

    Sounds like you’ve been facing some challenges and I’m sorry to hear that. As the Community Manager for Salesforce’s Marketing Cloud, I use the Radian6 Engagement Console daily and I can’t imagine trying to keep up with engagement or listening without it – though I do realize I am biased. I’d like to help you with the challenges you’ve been facing. So much has happened over the last year and though I can’t speak to your previous interactions regarding feature suggestions for improvement, I can tell you now that we are listening and taking feature requests very seriously. We value our customers, so your feedback is not only appreciated but so important to us.

    ALERTS

    I see you did reach out to our support team regarding the issues with Alerts and saw that it was explained and marked as resolved when you noted you’d received the alerts, but what I’d like to know from you is if you actually received a reason and resolution for the delays.

    BLOG

    As for the blog issues, if data is available publicly, we’ll capture it. In the interest of trust, we abide by each individual community’s guidelines. That means that data the community trusts to stay behind a wall, will; we don’t crawl or capture sites like private communities or private portions of Facebook. It really depends on the site, blog, etc. If you’re seeing something different, please let me know so we can figure this out. We don’t want you to miss a thing!

    REPORTING

    If you haven’t reached out to our support team on this, please let me know so we can see if we can figure this one out so you can get the information you need, the way you need it.

    Again, I appreciate you taking the time to blog this so we can work toward satisfying your needs. Please feel free to email me or tweet me @Dayngr.

    Also, here’s how to get in touch with our support team: email us at marketingcloudsupport@salesforce.com, ping us on Twitter at @mcloudsupport, or, call us at 1-888-672-3426 If you’d like a little extended training on a feature set, or some help retooling your topic profile, we’re here to help! Just give me a shout on twitter personally or via @marketingcloud and I will make sure to get you the help you may need.

    All the best,
    Trish @Dayngr
    Sr. Community Mgr | Salesforce Marketing Cloud

    Posted by Trish (@Dayngr) | 04/09/2013, 2:50 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: The Problem With Salesforce (Radian6) | Social Media Listening & Insights - 04/22/2014

Let me know your thoughts

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

